The Great Fashion Show.

February 28, 2010 at 00:09 (General)

This time I would like to say a couple words on clothes and fashion in books.
In TV shows it is so much easier.
Although I have seen shows where half of the main cast changes clothes not more than twice a season.
In book, well, it’s a whole different story.

Sometimes it is hard to decide whether we should write more or less about what the character is wearing.
Or should we mention anything at all.

I decided to share my opinion on that matter.

I believe it all depends on the situation.
Sometimes, mentioning that someone has silver buttons suggests that he is rich.
Muddy shoes might give away a murderer.
Ragged clothes are fit for a beggar or a man on the run.

Clothes can help to define the character or to demonstrate better the situation our hero is in.

But sometimes, especially in action-laden books we should keep description to the minimum.

It is a delicate balance.
There are many situations where we get carried away while describing the hero of the book, for we want the readers to see him/her like we do.
I can certainly understand that.

I also have to trim my descriptions from time to time.
If there is too much written about the main character the book looses it’s natural and unforced feeling.
It starts to feel like a school assignment.

Or a fashion designer diary. XD

Balance my dear readers, once again, is the key.

Hmm, I have just noticed that my posts are getting shorter and that I have not posted any of my for since a while.
I have decided to make amendments and I shall post a piece of my story (or a whole one if it will not take up too much space) next time.

I have been lately engaged in so many things that I hardly have time to write.
And I have discovered how much fun it is to play with pixels and vectors XD.

But writing is still high on my “favourite-things-to-do” list.

Thank you for reading.

2 Comments

  1. Jack said,

    So true… Descriptions cannot be neither too long nor too poor. But, certainly, it’s very important ingredient of story itself.

    I’d like to read some short stories of yours, so I’m looking forward for your new posts ;)

    • aishikami said,

      Thank you for your kind words.
      After your comment I felt more motivated to post one of my stories sooner XD.

Leave a Reply

